au naturale

If you “follow” me on any of my 1,000,000,000 social media platforms, you know I’ve been trying to transition into a simpler, less cluttered, healthier lifestyle.

First, I joined Tone It Up. Best decision ever. I love Karena & Katrina and the community of strong, supportive motivated females they helped unite. The subscription comes with hundreds of recipes, fitness tips, lifestyle tips, and a lifetime of future updates/recipes. These awesome ladies post a weekly fitness schedule, too. If you’re just starting, I highly recommend trying out the weekly routines first. And feel free to ask me any questions!

I’ve also made it a point to be more natural in my cleaning, hygiene, and bug extermination 😉 I learned the old diluted vinegar and water concoction years ago from my mama dearest, but when I moved out of the house, I didn’t realize the sheer financial ease of using vinegar! I also use baking soda for scrubbing tougher messes, and mix about a teaspoon of BS with vinegar and the effervescence does the trick for me! I’ve heard also with the cleaner, if you can’t stand the smell, using essential oils is helpful. I’ve never personally done it, because I’m used to the acrid scent of clean from vinegar.

Let’s do a cost analysis, based on what is easiest to search online. I chose Walmart.com.

White vinegar, 64oz…………………………………………………………………$1.82

I use a 1:1 mixture when cleaning, so 128oz of cleaner for me…….………..………$1.82

Formula 409 All Purpose Cleaner Spray Bottle, Lemon, 32oz…….…………$2.89

Ah, look, there. We’ve already gone up a dollar, for half of the amount of product. But wait, I double my solution! Let’s see, here:

4 bottles of 409=128oz……………………………………………………………..$11.56

If you don’t agree with me, I can’t help your shrinking wallet 😉

Oh, and then apple cider vinegar!!! I use this stuff for a morning energy boost (one of the TIU recipes has you mix some natural juice with a few other ingredients and ACV. Tastes nasty, but I’ve noticed an improvement in my skin and energy levels.)

I also use the potent stuff as a skin toner! 1 part ACV with 3 parts distilled water, and it stinks, but it’s effective. I like to do it either first thing after working out to get rid of the dirt stuck to my sweat (sexy!) or right before I go to bed at night. Can’t stand the smell? Try adding some essential oils! I hear lavender is excellent to add for its skin-beneficial calming qualities.

 

Leave a Reply

