Where to go from here…

A month ago, I went from this:

IMG_20140425_234153

…to this:

IMG_20140428_144714

 

It’s now time for my touch-up cut. I’ve been debating whether or not I want to keep it super-short, or opt for more of a bob, so I can bring back my curls I love so dearly.

Surprisingly, for curly-haired gals, pixie cuts are NOT fun. I hate it, actually. I have to wake up an extra hour early so I can shower, apply products, blow dry, blow dry with controlled attachments, straighten, apply more product, tousle, apply more product, and finally, style, all so my hair can look how I assume straight-haired pixie cut gals’ hair does. Let’s just say that when I get out of the shower, I look like:

Screen Shot 2014-05-24 at 8.09.02 PM

(photo cred: Say Anything)

So, to get to a more desirable look, a la:

Screen Shot 2014-05-24 at 8.17.09 PM

…it takes a LOT of working through.

I’ve tried just brushing it/tugging it while blow-drying, hoping this will pull some curl out, but I’m both happy and discouraged to report that my curls are resilient. Without 410 degree straightening, those curly Q’s refuse to uncurl.

I am using Bumble & Bumble products to maintain/protect my hair from all the drying heat, using this first as a moisturizer, this in between blow-drying and straightening to prevent my hair from looking “stringy,” this after tousling with the cream, and this when I go a day without a wash, as a “dry shampoo” before re-straightening.

Oh, and did I mention that I have to re-straighten when I go a day without a wash? Yea, I hate it. Where before I could have just thrown up the ol’ locks into a high pony or a bun, now I’m forced to re-straighten or I end up looking spiky like:

Screen Shot 2014-05-24 at 8.29.12 PM

…HAWT. (photo cred: The Lost Boys)

That all being said, I do love the short hair. It’s spunky; I’m told it suits my face well, and it’s a lot cooler than the long hair down here in sweltering Florida. I am definitely not going pixie again, though.

Leave a Reply

