Student Goal Rings

One of the biggest challenges for me, jumping into a caseload mid-schoolyear has been differentiating between all my clients. We’re all focusing on communication skills, and truthfully, we’re at a bare-bones basic level, but every student has different goals, and I need a way to ensure I’m taking data on the right stuff.

I came up with the idea from my anal-retentive need for organization and my love of notecards, which I’ve sadly had to scale back on since graduating (what grown professional keeps rings upon rings of notecards? Crazytown, right here!). I first developed a beautiful hand-written ring of notecards with each client’s targets and service time and goal benchmarks over spring break. So many hours of hard work and organization, and I was thrilled! They lasted one day. Tuesday after break, I was in a rush, and long story short, my labors were now java-colored.

Luckily, I wised up and chose to type my new set, so if this unfortunate historical moment should be repeated, I’m prepared!

Here is a glimpse and write-up of my system:

Screen Shot 2014-03-26 at 9.19.23 PM

 

How do you keep track of your students’ goals?

Leave a Reply

